Cheerios Racing
Cheerios Racing
Cheerios - home the Cheerios family our story promotions
for new parents for kids for families for adults
print page tell a friend change font size

related links
Richard Childress

President and CEO, Richard Childress Racing

Hometown: Winston-Salem, N.C.
Resides: Clemmons, N.C.
Wife: Judy
Children: Tina Dillon
Grandchildren: Austin (4/27/90) and Ty (2/27/92)

  • 2009 marked Richard Childress' 40th anniversary as a team owner in NASCAR's top division.
  • In 2008, all three Richard Childress Racing NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams (Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton and Kevin Harvick) made the Chase for the Sprint Cup for the second consecutive year.
  • Childress was the recipient of the 2008 Home Depot Humanitarian of the Year Award for his role in establishing the Childress Institute for Pediatric Trauma at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center.
  • RCR was the only organization to have all of its teams in NASCAR’s Chase for the Sprint Cup in 2007 – it was the first time all three RCR teams qualified for NASCAR’s 10-race playoff format since the concept was introduced for the 2004 season.
  • RCR clinched its first berth in the Chase for the Sprint Cup in 2006 with the teams of Burton and Harvick.
  • Named 2006 NASCAR Owner of the Year by The Sporting News.
  • RCR was a one-team shop (No. 3 team) from 1969-1994. A NASCAR Camping World Truck Series program (No. 3) was added in 1995 and a second Sprint Cup Series team (No. 31) was added for the 1997 season. A two-team NASCAR Nationwide Series program (Nos. 2 and 21) was started for the 2000 season and the Truck Series team ceased operation. A third Sprint Cup Series team (former No. 30, now No. 07) was started in 2001 to run a part-time schedule and became a full-time program in 2002. A third Nationwide Series team (No. 29) was added in 2006 to run a partial schedule with Jeff Burton and became a full-time program in 2007. A fourth full-time Sprint Cup Series team (No. 33) was added for the 2009 season.
  • Childress was the first NASCAR team owner to win championships in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (Dale Earnhardt - 1986, ’87, ’90, ’91, ’93 and ’94), NASCAR Nationwide Series (Kevin Harvick – 2001, Harvick and Johnny Sauter – 2003, Harvick – 2006, Burton and Scott Wimmer – 2007, Bowyer – 2008) and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (Mike Skinner - 1995).
  • An RCR team has finished in the top 10 of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series point standings in 23 of the last 27 seasons … 1992, 2002, 2004 and 2005 were the years RCR did not have a car finish in the top 10 in points.
  • An RCR team has earned a Sprint Cup Series win in 24 of the last 26 seasons … 1997 and 2004 were the seasons RCR did not win a Sprint Cup Series race.
  • RCR has 184 victories in NASCAR competition, including the 1998 and 2007 Daytona 500 and the 1995 and 2003 Brickyard 400.
  • RCR has a Sprint Cup Series victory at 18 of 22 current tracks (winless at Fontana, Homestead, Kansas and Las Vegas) and 20 overall (defunct tracks North Wilkesboro and Rockingham).
  • RCR won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year Award in 1997 with Skinner and in 2001 with Harvick.
  • RCR’s first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory came in 1983 with Ricky Rudd at Riverside (Calif.) International Speedway.
  • Childress was a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver from 1969 to 1981, recording six top-five and 76 top-10 finishes in 285 starts. He finished fifth in the point standings in 1975 and earned top-10 points finishes in five of the eight full seasons he competed as a driver. He retired as a driver in mid-1981, naming Earnhardt to finish the season in his car.
  • Childress purchased his first race car, a 1947 Plymouth, for $20 at age 17.
Richard Childress and No. 33

CLINT BOWYER and Clint Bowyer's autograph are trademarks of Clint Bowyer Racing, Inc. The RCR checkered flag logo is a registered trademark of RCR Enterprises, LLC. The stylized no. 33 is a trademark of RCR Enterprises, LLC. All trademarks, personal likenesses and the likeness of the no. 33 race car are used under license from their owners.